History of the DSPCA

Our History

The Dublin Society for Prevention of Cruelty to Animals was established in 1840 and is the oldest and largest animal charity in the Republic of Ireland.

In its early days the Society was known as the Dublin Auxiliary of the Royal Society for the Protection of Animals and it was founded the year the RSPCA received Royal Patronage, over the years it has had many names including “The Dublin Home for Starving and Forsaken Cats”.

The Society was based at Grand Canal Quay in Dublin City from its formation in 1840 up until 1990, and generations of Dublin people were familiar with it as “The Dogs and Cats Home” and at times as “The Cats & Dogs Home”.

In 1990 the Society moved to the Potterton Restfields at Stocking Lane in Rathfarnham, a suburb of Dublin. The land was bequeathed to the Society in the 1930s as a place to graze retired working horses.

In 2003 the Society moved to its new premises on Mount Venus Road, Rathfarnham where state of the art facilities were built to continue the work of the Society. The DSPCA continues to care for the sick, injured and cruelty treated animals in Dublin city and county.

In 2010 the DSPCA commenced work on a new unique sustainable charity model for animal welfare. The new Pet Boarding Centre opened in November 2010 and the private Vet Clinic opened in February 2011.

The DSPCA is the only animal welfare charity in the city that cares for all animals, domestic and wild. This is a tradition the staff at the DSPCA are very proud of.